Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner
1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi there,

I'm a US citizen (web designer by trade) looking to live in Spain for a year or two. I've been to Spain on a tourist visa 3 times, and I've spent 6 months there total.

The state I live in falls under the jurisdiction of the San Francisco Consulate, so I went over the different visas they have listed there and found the Non-Lucrative Residence visa, which states: This visa allows you to reside in Spain without engaging in any type of lucrative activities. Since my income would come from the United States, I imagine that doesn't count - but having some experience with Spanish beaurocracy, I don't want to take the chance without researching it exhaustively.

So questions are:
Should I be looking at a different visa?
If not, does anyone here have any experience with obtaining a non-lucrative visa, and if so can you tell us how it went?
What documents did you use to prove you made enough money?
What kind of international health insurance qualified?

Thanks! Any comments / answers much appreciated.

·
Administrator
36,699 Posts
:welcome:
Since you would be physically in Spain while you worked, then yes , that income would count, so you wouldn't qualify for the non-lucrative visa

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
:welcome :
Since you would be physically in Spain while you worked, then yes , that income would count, so you wouldn't qualify for the non-lucrative visa
Hmm. So I wonder what people who work remotely do exactly? Get a work visa as self-employed somehow? Other options?

·
Administrator
36,699 Posts
Hmm. So I wonder what people who work remotely do exactly? Get a work visa as self-employed somehow? Other options?
I don't think (99% sure actually) that there is a work visa for self-employed

I would guess that people in your position either come & stay illegally, working illegally

or they don't come