Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi there,
I would like to know if anyone is facing the same kind of situation and how you go about it.
Basically, I have been granted an Indefinite Leave to Remain in the UK since 2006 after my graduation, I have previously lived and studied in the UK for 13 years, and after my ILR was granted I had to move to Singapore where I had a job offer, which during that time I was not able to find what I was looking for in the UK.
I have been working in Singapore for almost 7 years now, and in order to retain my ILR I have to make a visit back to the UK every 2 years as I do not wish to lose it since I would like to go back there and work should I find a better offer from there.

I was just wondering if anyone is facing the same situation, and whether or not the Immigration has the right to take away my ILR? 'Technically' I return back to the UK every 2 years, but of course it has already been almost 7 years since I left for work.
I have not yet experienced any issue with the immigration yet, but I am now thinking if it is worth keeping the residency?

Any thoughts on this is much appreciated!

NCW

·
Registered
39,103 Posts
In practice, immigration turns a blind eye if you visit UK often enough. But when you lengthen the interval between your visits to almost the maximum 2 years, the border force staff get a bit suspicious and start asking questions about your ties in UK. While in theory you are expected to return within 2 years to resume your ordinary residence in UK, people who have strong enough ties in UK and return (for a visit) often enough are usually let in without much ado. The longer you stay in UK, the stronger your claim to be a returning resident.

·
Registered
479 Posts
Sorry to hijack this thread but I have a similar question....