Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner
1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
526 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi everyone. I've been living and working in SA for the past 6 years, initially on an intra company transfer permit for 2 years and thereafter on a quota work permit.

When I got the quota work permit I was told by colleagues and friends that I would have the luxury of easily being able to change jobs anytime I wanted as long as I stuck with the same occupation. Well, I've been trying to change jobs since 2012 or 2013 and it seems absolutely impossible to even get an interview call! I don't consider my CV to be that bad honestly... I have more than 10 years of experience and a Masters degree from a world class university. But it seems as though prospective employers are not even looking at my CV! I'm stuck with the same employer since I arrived here! Do I need to become a permanent resident here to even be considered seriously for a job? Then what good is this dumb quota work permit??? I'm in the manufacturing industry by the way.

Any help or advice sincerely appreciated!

- Frustrated "foreigner".

·
Registered
1,519 Posts
Hi everyone. I've been living and working in SA for the past 6 years, initially on an intra company transfer permit for 2 years and thereafter on a quota work permit.