Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am a UK investment professional (0111: Financial Managers), with a masters degree & 15 years experience, looking to immigrate to Canada and had some questions.

1. How long does the process take?

2. I am looking at Citizenship and Immigration Canada website and wondered if it is best to apply online?

3. Does that mean applying for a 'work-permit'?

4. How many days in Canada are required to maintain residency?

Thanks for your help.

·
Registered
4,458 Posts
I am a UK investment professional (0111: Financial Managers), with a masters degree & 15 years experience, looking to immigrate to Canada and had some questions.

1. How long does the process take?
Applying for PR status should take 6-9 months

2. I am looking at Citizenship and Immigration Canada website and wondered if it is best to apply online?
I wasn't aware you could apply online. The forms can certainly be downloaded online, but I believe it has to be a paper application.

3. Does that mean applying for a 'work-permit'?
As a PR you would be entitled to work for whomever and wherever.

4. How many days in Canada are required to maintain residency?
You must be in Canada 2 years out of five and that's cumulative not consecutive.

Thanks for your help.
Good Luck.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks Auld Yin, appreciate your reply.

Apologies, you are correct about printing the forms.

I have a couple of follow on questions.

1. Is there a quicker path?

2. Is the time the same for 'Skilled workers and professionals' as 'Investors, entrepreneurs and self-employed people'?

3. Can I apply from within Canada, whilst on a 6m visitors visa?

Thanks

·
Registered
4,458 Posts
Thanks Auld Yin, appreciate your reply.

Apologies, you are correct about printing the forms.

I have a couple of follow on questions.