Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi All...

I just stumbled on this Forum. Background: I am US/Norwegian dual citizen, and my wife and kids are American. We've been in Berlin since the end of June.

1) I've been told over and over that it is really easy for me to be here as a EEA country citizen. I havent filled out any visa paperwork as a result, merely walked in with my Norwegian passport. Is this true? Is there some form I should have filled out? I got no stamp at all on my Norwegian passport.. its still blank. I am at this point "registered" at my address with a certified "Anmeldungsbestaetigung"

2) Do I have a medical insurance requirement here in Germany ? If so, when do I prove it? Where is the list of what constitutes "acceptable" insurance? I have travel insurance from the US and I'm currently looking into German insurance. I am a physician with plenty of financial resources, but I'm not employed currently here in Berlin, so getting the right insurance has been tricky, without an employer in place.

2) I'm trying to track down the exact requirements for forms/etc for my wife and kids. I read in this forum that it is the "Aufenthaltsanzeige für EU-Bürger und deren Familienangehörige" form ?? I want to confirm this, and would like to find the form on the LABO website. Similarly I wonder about the insurance requirements, and / or financial proof required for my wife, as she is American vs EEA.

3) We had to change the Auslaenderbehoerde appointment to be just AFTER my wife's Schengen visa expires. I was told when we all schlepped over to the Behoerde that it would still be OK, as long as we had the appointment made. Any comment on this? So here visa will expire just before our group appointment at the Behoerde.

thanks for any info!!!

Ben

·
Registered
1,021 Posts
1. Yes, that's all.