Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi guys, as you can see I'm a newbie to the site. My Husband and I are looking to move out of the UK sometime next year and have started looking around at possibilites.

Hubby is qualified sparky but can't find work here and I am in Care work & have also worked in other sectors such as admin, catering etc. Have thought about Oz, New Zealand, etc. for relocation but as we now both 45 our possibilities become more restrictive. So have now started to think about Spain or more specifically the Canaries.

What are the work prospects and housing market like in these areas. We are not sure yet whether to rent out our property and give it 6-12 months out there or whether to bite the bullet and sell up entirely.

Hope to here from some of you guys soon.
Elle & Bob

·
Administrator
36,440 Posts
Hi guys, as you can see I'm a newbie to the site. My Husband and I are looking to move out of the UK sometime next year and have started looking around at possibilites.

Hubby is qualified sparky but can't find work here and I am in Care work & have also worked in other sectors such as admin, catering etc. Have thought about Oz, New Zealand, etc. for relocation but as we now both 45 our possibilities become more restrictive. So have now started to think about Spain or more specifically the Canaries.

What are the work prospects and housing market like in these areas. We are not sure yet whether to rent out our property and give it 6-12 months out there or whether to bite the bullet and sell up entirely.

Hope to here from some of you guys soon.
Elle & Bob
:welcome:

I've moved your question to 'Spain' - that was easy :D

you moving to Spain & finding work won't be quite as easy - Spain has 3 x the unemployment rate as that in the UK