Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi everybody,

I am American (early 30s, single) who will do about anything to get to Europe. After research and reading, my best bet is finding a job with an American corporation and getting transferred to Europe. I need help getting pointed in the right direction so I can do a job search in earnest.

I speak excellent French as I have a master's degree in it and speak Spanish well. I teach both languages in a high school here in the States. I lived in France as an exchange student and as an assistante in a lycée. I can't get any sort of EU passport because all my ancestors immigrated to the US well before 1890...I checked with the British, Irish, German and Polish consulates.

While my background is mostly education I have non-profit experience, freelance translating, some business background and am pretty good with computers (not programmer good, though). I have spent hours scouring the web and I need help getting pointed in the right direction. Can someone please tell me what would be good companies to connect with? Or are there reputable employment agencies who recruit Americans to fill jobs in Europe? For bypassing the agencies and going straight for the jugular, I am looking for American companies with branches in France, Belgium, Luxembourg, Spain, Switzerland, Ireland, UK...I am not dead-set on any particular location, although France or Belgium would be my first choices. Is there like a list of US companies with branches in Europe available online?

Or, can anyone recommend a good place to network? I have a LinkedIn profile but I'm not sure how to use it to connect with the "right" people. Are there any other ways to network online? :ranger: I have tapped out my own personal European network...no luck there.