Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello,

I and my wife got our greencards from the lottery. We made a visit to the usa to finish all the paperworks in july and came back to Turkey where we live. Our greencards were sent to the address we entered during the application. And the cards were sent to us and we have them now in our hands in Turkey.

Normally we know that we don't have to stay longer than a year from the USA. Our plan is also to be back within a year. What we are planning is to quit our jobs, selling our belongings and start relocating.

I work in a bank which also has a partnership with a bank in the usa. I'm talking with them to able able to keep my working lifr within the same group after we move. I have a good progress but i have to wait until there is an opening in the position that I'm looking for. It may take a few months but that's ok for now.

My question is that i was selected to be a branch manager in my country and have to decide if i want to move to USA or stay in the country and keep my career continue. It's quite confusing but i and my wife really want to try this new life in the usa.

And hopefully we will.

Ok here comes my question:

As i said we didn't sell our belongings and i'm in the middle of communicating with the company i'm willing to work, our relocation might take more than six months simce our departure from usa but less than a year. Do you think this will break our rights to keep our greencards? As of this is our first year and we still haven't finished things quit jobs and sold belongings in Turkey, i hope we don't have any surprise when we first move to the USA within 1 year (maybe at 9th or 10th month since our departure)