Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner
1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
My company (A US Company) employed me direct from the UK to Dubai - I am a UK Citizen - resident in UAE.

I have been here for 3 years - For the 1st year I was paid without the deduction of Hypo tax, from year 2 onwards the company has take 15% of my pay.:mad:

Is this legal?

My freezone contract (DAFZA) makes no mention of the deduction, whilst my contract with the employer does mention the deduction - would I have a case to claim this money back.

Thanks for any responses

·
Banned
6,189 Posts
Is this legal?
Sure. Your compensation agreement with your employer governs. If your agreement is for tax equalization, that means your employer is compensating you in such a way that you enjoy a U.K.-like after-tax experience.

OK, now you're in Dubai. Dubai has no personal income tax. Ergo your employer reduces your total compensation, other things being equal. You don't enjoy a tax windfall -- your employer does.

Your other potential choice is local employment on a local contract, but employers in Dubai pay less, other things being equal, precisely because the personal income tax rate is zero. "There's no free lunch."

If some of your hypothetical tax is going toward U.K. national pension contributions, that's helpful. That might be part of your tax equalization package, continuation and preservation of U.K. social insurance benefits.

·
Registered
3 Posts
My company (A US Company) employed me direct from the UK to Dubai - I am a UK Citizen - resident in UAE.

I have been here for 3 years - For the 1st year I was paid without the deduction of Hypo tax, from year 2 onwards the company has take 15% of my pay.:mad:

Is this legal?

My freezone contract (DAFZA) makes no mention of the deduction, whilst my contract with the employer does mention the deduction - would I have a case to claim this money back.

Thanks for any responses