Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello!

I plan to move to Mexico and marry my boyfriend who is a Mexican resident in Puerto Vallarta. I am wondering, how do I go about being able to work and make a living in Mexico. Thank you.

·
Super Moderator
Guadalajara, México
7,056 Posts
And are there even any jobs I can do while I am still working on my Spanish?
You will need a Temporary visa and permission to work or a Permanent visa which includes permission to work automatically.

I would guess that in Puerto Vallarta there might be jobs in the tourist industry that do not require Spanish and where native English might be an advantage.

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Major organizational skills! Art related fields (photography and ceramics). Customer service. I currently work in Law Enforcement; I guess would translate to secretary type skills, but I'd really like a job with less typing!

·
Registered
1,290 Posts
Mexico works hard to protect its citizen workers and they make it not so easy to work as an expat, but it is certainly possible.

If you don't have a residente permanente, you will need to get the work permit add-on for your residente temporal, which you generally need to show a degree in your field to receive. I don't believe that is a legal rule but that is what I was asked for. If you don't have a degree, it may be tougher.

Without Spanish skills you are looking mostly at either timeshare sales or call center work. Tourism work might be possible but you will have stiff competition from English speaking natives, of which there are many. Wages are very low compared to what you are used to. Minimum wage is less than $5 PER 8 HOUR DAY, not per hour!

Do you do graphic arts work? You could work via internet for US based clients and make a lot more.
Working in Mexico isn't easy nor a given.

·
Super Moderator
9,011 Posts