Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
34 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
We moved 2 weeks ago and still staying with my wife's family (so no proof of address apart from a "declaration d'hebergement").

I will be employed by the Swiss branch of the company and work in Geneva.

How do we register for healthcare here in France? Do I need to wait 3 months before I can register?

Thanks

·
Registered
34 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
This might help: https://www.cleiss.fr/faq/droit_d_option_des_frontaliers_france-suisse.html

If that doesn't help, use the search facility on the CLEISS site for "frontaliers" where you'll find a number of articles and information sheets for those who work in Switzerland and live in France.
Thanks, I've seen that already but it implies that I am already registered in France (it requires a signature from the French provider).

I am new to France so I need to register here first, although they seem to require French income?

·
Administrator
49,111 Posts
Thanks, I've seen that already but it implies that I am already registered in France (it requires a signature from the French provider).

I am new to France so I need to register here first, although they seem to require French income?
That may be an issue. You may want to perhaps ask your employer (to be?). If they have other employees who are living in France they may have some experience with this and can possibly give you whatever document you will need in order to register with CPAM for the health system.

But then again, you may need the carte de séjour (residence permit) in order to register with CPAM - and if you're British, the website for applying for the CDS isn't going to open up until October 1st or thereabouts.

·
Registered
34 Posts
Discussion Starter #5