Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi Peeps

I have been trying to get a job in the UAE for almost a year now with my main resources being Bayt and teachanywhere websites.

I have read that most people get jobs via contacts they have within organisations. How do i network with others? What is the best way to secure a job in the UAE?

I am a Computer Network Tech graduate and a qualified teacher (PGDE, and a CELTA). I was made redundant last year and have done a number of jobs since then including teaching primary school kids, developing training programs and working with the account director at an auction house.

i enjoy teaching and am willing to continue doing that in my spare time even if it is voluntary to help underprivileged kids. I am looking for a change career wise and would like to go down the sales or investment routes.
How do i get into this? What if i offered to work for free just so they can see that i am a dedicated hard worker and very quick learner?

Thanks for reading

:)

(P.S.. my LinkedIn account if it'll help: ...just realised that i can't paste links, but feel free to PM me and i will share)

·
Super Moderator
Originally from UK but lived in many countries
6,963 Posts
Hi,
Where to start!
Your chances of securing a job through the websites you mention are very slim - each job gets thousands of applicants, most people dont fit the criteria but just apply for everything going.
This makes it even harder for the employer to find the right people to interview from all the responses.
The UAE is a fairly small country, by world standards - so the job market here is fairly limited - unless you have particular skills and qualifications that are in real demand.
In addition, due to it's geographical location - there is plenty of low cost labour available from India, Pakistan, Philippines etc.