Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner

1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So I started learning French around 1.5 years ago and I am around B2 level (but not quite there yet). While I can understand and read a lot of stuff in French when I speak with people, they always have a problem understanding me. And that's because of my accent.

My accent in French is a mix of Indian accent combined with North American accent (as I used to live in the US for 7 years). So basically, I wanted to know from all the people who have been living in France for a long period of time, did you encountered the same problems as I do?

Due to the fact that I lived in US before, my English accent is much more North American than Indian which makes me wonder. I know I can never get rid of my accent in French completely but will it get reduced overtime? How long did it took you guys to make yourself understood well in France?

·
Read Only
18,642 Posts
I don't expect to every lose my accent :D Mine's a weird mid of Australian and local French accents (vosgien and béarnais). If I'd moved back to France at an earlier age, or if my family (I'm half French) had chosen to speak French in the home, things may have been different. I'm unfortunately not a particularly talkative person so, although I'm something of a parrot and my accent has decreased in recent years, the change is relatively slow (or maybe I expect too much :D). That said, I've had no problems with people understanding me.

I think you're much younger than I am, so I would expect your accent to soften faster than mine (but that won't necessarily be the case).

We're all different.

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·