Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
64 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I visited Istanbul a few months ago and fell in love with it!
I am a mechanical engineer with 3 years of experience working in Dubai.

What are my chances of finding a job in turkey and moving there?

Thanks a lot!

·
Registered
648 Posts
well unless you get an offer it is really hard.

First of all you need to have work permission and non of the companies will do it for you because Turkey has more than 80 million population which 65 % of it is between 18-30 years old so we have a huge labor supply.

Unless you have extra ordinary skill sets it is really unlikely for you to find a job. Salary is a really big burden for any business so the only reason anyone may hire you is to give less salary than they should be giving for that job.

Which means less than 2000 Turkish Lira per month (1000 USD). Expats live happy in Turkey but non of them just arrived here and got a job. I would suggest you to start searching for jobs in your country which are offering a position in Turkey. Or you can also look for jobs in international job search forums. In this way you will get a really good salary and live even better than Turkish citizens.

I think it is close to zero % for you to find a job by just grabbing your bag and coming to Istanbul. Turkey has a really high unemployment rate and those who have a job work at least 55 hours per week without getting paid for over time and with a really low salary. (Also they work on saturdays)

As i said even really talented Turkish people are having hard time to find a decent job (40 hours per week, no saturday work, a salary which is more than 2000 USD and benefits) and i highly recommend you to search jobs outside of Turkey

Reactions: Lal233445 and Faida

·
Registered
131 Posts