Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner
1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hi All,

I just discovered this expat forum and joined so let me introduce myself briefly in this first post. I am a 27-year old and one of the 200,000+ Spanish young professionals who are emigratting from Spain in search of better opportunities. In my case, I have been transferred to my company's office in Tokyo, something that I have been dreaming with for years. I have studied Japanese for over 10 years although my level is not as high as I would like (barely passed N2 last year). I hope that my new life in Japan will help me improve it. I lived in Tokyo for one year in 2008 as I studied there so this will not be my first time living in Japan, although life as student and as an employee varies a lot, I know. Nice to e-meet you All and thanks for letting me join this forum!

I am planning to stay in a guest house during the first month(s) but I am already looking for my options for permanent housing and I must confess I am quite lost :(

My monthly budget is 83,000 yen. I am aware that one of the bad sides of living in Japan will be the lack of space but I would like to have some "minimum space" to avoid depression. Ideally I would like to have a balcony with nice views (at least some fresh air) so I am avoiding ground floor places. I know that the further I would go from the city the cheaper and nicer places I can find, but my company will NOT pay for my commute to work so I cannot live very very far from the city (my office is in Nishi Shinjuku)... On the other hand, I am a single woman living on my own. I think that living far from the city while living alone could be a bit lonely (what do you think?) which is why I am seeking for places not further than 25-30 minutes by train.

I know my situation is pretty bad:
- low budget
- no commuting paid
- looking for a minimal wide room
- with nice views (ideally)