Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 2 of 2 Posts

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi there everyone. I want to relocate to the south of France in the area around Nice as soon as possible. I realize that it is extremely difficult for a non-French, non-EU person to obtain employment in France especially since my French is beginner at best.

I am a veterinarian and if I want to become licensed as a veterinarian in France, I would have to take a three-day examination offered once a year which is entirely in French. So becoming licensed in France is something that I would have to consider in the future after I become fluent in French.

I have applied for many jobs as a veterinary nurse. I found one veterinarian that was interested in hiring me but who ultimately decided that he did not want to go through the process necessary to help me obtain my long-term work visa.

I have also applied for jobs working as an assistant, working as a guardienne for private homes, and working in gites. I owned and managed a motel for over seven years so I have a lot of experience in this. However, the gites where I have applied wanted me to work for free in exchange for accommodations. I would still need to have some income to pay for food, medical insurance, clothes, car, etc.

I am working on trying to establish "location-independent income" by writing books. I have published my first book and it generates a small amount of royalties each month. I am preparing to write a series of short books about medical problems in dogs and cats.

I have memberships to several housesitting websites. I have found a number of homeowners offering long-term housesits for a year or more. The housesits are not paid but are free accommodations in exchange for caring for animals, plants, grounds, etc. Some of them offer odd jobs that you can do to make some money.