Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
460 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
A friend of mine has just been to collect papers to appear in court to have his sole home repossesed
He had small arrears and has been paying his mortgage every month and extra off the arrears
He does not speak spanish or read spanish fluently
Whats the process ?
And as this is his only home he will after return with his family to the uk
Can he apply online for council housing in the uk
Any advice would be helpful

·
Registered
2 Posts
There is hope.

As a newbie I can't post links (yet) but if you type "spanish law on repossessions" into google there are a couple of sites which give good advice on this matter. Personally I would advise your friend to get a Spanish speaking friend/advisor to talk to the bank as quickly as possible. The bank does not want to have the property on its books and would much prefer to reach a new loan agreement with your friend. However these things have to be done before the bank is obliged (by law) to regard the loan as a liability instead of as an asset. Move as fast as you can.

·
Registered
460 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thnx. Klassmaster i have checked google and from what i can make out there is not alot you can do
Unlike the uk you can atleast negotiate here its everyone on the street including the family its distressing really to think that people have lost their incomes due to a crisis the banks have caused and all they want to do here is add to the problem by repossesing peoples homes
Thks again

·
Registered
1,979 Posts
Someone posted a way round this the other day… rent the house for 100 years to someone for a euro a month and aprently the bank cant take it! Although if papers have already been served then maybe that doesnt apply.