Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi everyone

I'm new to this :)

Me, my husband and my young family are really hoping to emigrate to Cyprus in the next 3-6 months. My daughters are 11 and 4.

I am just looking for some friendly advice or info on what sort of order to do things in??

We have a base over there in Paphos, but it is a friends property so we will eventually need to rent our own place.

We are looking for jobs but seem to hear a lot of bad things - basically saying that Cypriots won't hire English people?? Any advice??

We know that one of us will need to be in employment before we come over.

We have seen the International School in Paphos also - is this school private?? I've seen some good reviews about it on the net. I was hoping that my 4 year old could attend a Cypriot school as she is still young enough to hopefully pick up the language??

Any advice or knowledge would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you in advance :)

·
Super Moderator
12,557 Posts
My advice is do not do it.
Without very well paid jobs to come to you will end up going back to the Uk worse off than when you arrived.
Couples with school age children need a very large money pot to survive here. Unlike the locals you will not have the support of family and you will not get any help from the Cyprus government if you end up jobless and penniless.
Your older child would not fit into local; school so you would need to budget around 10K euros per year for schooling.
To survive you would both need to be earning good money so you would have childcare to pay for the children for out of school hours as well.

Cyprus is great if you have a good income or a pension and are just a couple or single person but even in the good times expats with children struggled to make ends meet and these days jobs are few and far between and badly paid.