Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello ,

I'm considiring to move to Spain (Valencia) with my family. I have a daughter (14 years) and a son (12 years). For the beggining I would like them to be homeschooled. I have thought it was illegal but I've contacted HSLDA and they have told me it is legal. I have also heard there is an American of Valencia. The only problem about that are the high prices.
I am kind of new with homeschooling so I would like to know how do you do it? Do you need any paper says your child has been homeschooled? Where do you buy the books ? I would really appreciate if someone could answer my questions.

Thank You. :)

·
Administrator
36,440 Posts
Hello ,

I'm considiring to move to Spain (Valencia) with my family. I have a daughter (14 years) and a son (12 years). For the beggining I would like them to be homeschooled. I have thought it was illegal but I've contacted HSLDA and they have told me it is legal. I have also heard there is an American of Valencia. The only problem about that are the high prices.
I am kind of new with homeschooling so I would like to know how do you do it? Do you need any paper says your child has been homeschooled? Where do you buy the books ? I would really appreciate if someone could answer my questions.

:welcome:

quite simply, at the moment, homeschooling is essentially illegal in most of Spain, so there is no support system & no official way of following that path

even the HSLDA website states that attendance at school is compulsory age 6-16 & goes on to say
Legal Status: In December 2010, the Spanish Constitutional Court handed down a sentence that leaves homeschoolers in an insecure legal position. In a case before the Constitutional Tribunal, the court denied parents the right to educate their children at home. It is still uncertain what effect this ruling will have upon homeschoolers in Spain.