Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 77 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm a big home chef hobbyist and scratching my head at finding products found in Europe.

The most painful thing I cannot find:

Cooking Apples, otherwise known as Bramley Apples. Can't find them anywhere!

Others are:

Mascarpone Cheese
Ginger Biscuits
Digestive Biscuits
Whipping Cream
Indian Spices
Basmati Rice

When I discover more ingredients I can't find, I'll come back here to see if anyone can help.

Plus I'd love you to voice things you cannot find too, just to make me feel better as a home chef hobbyist who has the wind taken out of his post prestigious recipes.

·
Registered
1,837 Posts
You live in Los Mochis and wonder why you can't find these ingredients? At least Basmati Rice can be found in Costco, that is if one is close by.

·
Registered
1,452 Posts
Sorry I can only help with one. Whipping cream is "crema para batir". This shouldn't be too hard to find, as it's used in some Mexican desserts.

(In Guatemala I would often add "para chantilly" but I'm not sure I've heard "chantilly" used in Mexico?)

I pretty sure there are Indian spices and basmati rice in Tepoztlan (which is where my Mexican home is - near Cuernavaca) because there are some Indian restaurants there and I know people in town who cook Indian food, but obviously that won't help you in Los Mochis. I imagine there are other cities you can find these ingredients as well, so if you travel around Mexico in the future you might be able to stock up on some of your "hard to finds".

·
Banned
352 Posts
Sorry I can only help with one. Whipping cream is "crema para batir". This shouldn't be too hard to find, as it's used in some Mexican desserts.

(In Guatemala I would often add "para chantilly" but I'm not sure I've heard "chantilly" used in Mexico?)