Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
71 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
hi all! I'm Fly!
Trying to settle in to Dubai life but finding it all a real big challenge, some days I barely hear the sound of my own voice so needless to say I am feel lonely!
Would love to make some friends and have a group of people to hang out with and get to know :D

·
Registered
22 Posts
Dubai can be hard to settle into but really great as well. What are you doing here, how old are you, where do you live or what are you interests etc. :)

·
Registered
3,082 Posts
Im a teacher :)
Interests are swimming,running,cycling,cooking and music
Sounds like you need to do a triathlon!
If you sing at the same time, that just leaves cooking for when you get home....

There are a few Tri clubs in town, as well as loads of organised cycling groups.
If you want more pointers in this direction, let me know

Reactions: BrokenWings

·
Registered
19 Posts
hi all! I'm Fly!
Trying to settle in to Dubai life but finding it all a real big challenge, some days I barely hear the sound of my own voice so needless to say I am feel lonely!
Would love to make some friends and have a group of people to hang out with and get to know :D

How long have you been in Dubai for? It's a pretty daunting place i've found so far. Also suffering from slight hesitation to approach who people who seem to be from the UK just in case they're not (or they are and they pretend they're not)

Where in Dubai are you based? I'm in Deira which I don't really think is an expat hotspot.

·
Registered
80 Posts
I said Hi to someone today and he remarked, Oh you're English! I thought the blue eyes gave me away most of the time.

I'm going to be living & working in the marina area :)

·
Registered
19 Posts
hahaha i'll just start saying 'Hi' to random people then.