Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
We are a young(ish) couple in our early 40's with 2 children, looking to relocate somewhere, sometime in the next 5 yrs. Only one of our children will be coming with us, as the oldest is 19 and in university. Our second is 9.

We are currently throwing ideas around and looking for somewhere we both want to be that is affordable, pretty, has a beach or is near a beach and has employment opportunities for us both. (I know this last one will be a bit of a stickler.)

I am a French/English teacher here in Canada, and my husband would be happy doing any number of things, although he has no Spanish. Mine is basic, but slowly getting better.

One of the places we're very interested in is Mexico, but don't want to be in any of the northern states. I think Mazatlan would be the furthest north we'd want to go on that side of Mexico. We've been to Quintana Roo a couple of times and loved it, but aren't thinking that that's the only option. I would prefer an older city because of the history and architecture. My husband wants a city that will has modern conveniences, a big enough ex-pat community, and we both want good education opportunities for our daughter. I think a good place would have a bilingual or international school, and perhaps real estate employment opportunities for my husband to work in. For myself, I'm hoping to get a teaching position with a good school.

So - you guys are the experts. Do you have any suggestions on where a good place would be?

Thanks! Feel free to throw any and all ideas into the pot!

Beth

·
Registered
6,720 Posts