Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi!
This is my first time on this forums and from what I've seen people here are quite friendly and helpful, but I couldn't quite find a thread of my problem/situation.. so, here goes:

I'm a EU citizen (originally from Latvia), I can move around Europe without any problems, currently living in United Kingdom, Scotland.

She is from the US, just got her passport for the first time really.

I want to marry this girl I met online, she will be coming to Scotland in 2 months, we plan to get married so we could finally be together.. but.. we've read quite a lot on how to get this to work but theres so much information that I get lost on what's actually happening and how to get it to work.

My question is.. How should we plan this? Perhaps we could get married in like - Latvia? or France? Thing is, if she leaves US she won't be able to come back really. Unless I work hard and get her a hotel or something but... yeh..

I've also read that if she enters UK on a visitor visa we won't be able to get married.. is this true? Is there a way around it?

I assume she can stay in UK for 3 months, then we could just move to Schengen Area and she would have 3 months to reside, say, in Latvia? We're ready to travel around the world if it means to be together..

I don't know if anyone had anything like this, but if you feel like you have at least a little bit of advice, please ! please do tell!

Any help or advice will be greatly appreciated!

Thanks in Advance!

~NeO

·
Registered
465 Posts
YES, you're right. You can't enter on a visitor visa and get married. That's against the visa rules, ALSO it could mess up your next visa when you wanna stay with each other BIG time.

If you get a marriage visa, this is a visit visa, she is allowed to visit to get married, but then must go home. Kind of a touristy thing.