Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
24 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi All,

I am new to Dubai and I have rented an apartment: my contract started _yesterday_ and I paid my rent in 1 cheque. However I still do not have the DEWA form from the landlord and I wont pay the agent the commission until I receive it, however the agent will not give me the keys until I pay the commission.

But my furniture is getting delivered today and I am kicked out of my serviced apartment tomorrow. I dont really know what to do. Am I legally entitled to the keys to the property? Can I bill the landlord for a hotel stay until the DEWA is turned on because it doesnt look like it will be turned on by the time I move in.

The landlord is out of the country at the moment but I paid a 1 month deposit for this place 3 weeks ago so I blame the agent for not being more organised.

Any advice is welcome!

·
Registered
3,335 Posts
The agent is 100% at fault here - he should have had all the relevant documentation from the Landlord for you to be able to proceed with everything.

Threaten that you will go and report him to RERA if he does not sort this asap.

·
Registered
24 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
thanks, I will look into RERA more. Is the agent legally allowed to withhold the keys even though I have paid my rent in full to the landlord?

·
Registered
21 Posts
It's surprising there is anyone actually in Dubai given the amount of landlords that are "out of the country"

Agree with Chocoholic, tell him he gets his commission last when everything is finished and that you are on your way now to RERA to file a case.

·
Registered
3,335 Posts
thanks, I will look into RERA more. Is the agent legally allowed to withhold the keys even though I have paid my rent in full to the landlord?