Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys!

We're originally from New England, but we've spent the the last 8 months living in Thailand and traveling around parts of Central and Eastern Europe. After a short stint back home visiting family, it's time for us to hit the road again and escape the miserable winters of New England.

We're complete newbies to the whole Quintana Roo area of Mexico so we're hoping that some of you might be able to give us some insight on where to look when it comes to finding a nice place somewhere along the caribbean for the next 6 months or so.

Questions for you:

1. If you could choose a place to spend the next 6 months in Quintana Roo, where would you choose?

2. We've done some serious research on Playa del Carmen and while we've spotted a few deals that look to be decent (price wise), we're wondering if there's similar areas (touristy but not TOO touristy, active, safe) beach town alternatives to Playa.

3. We're basically looking for somewhere within walking (1-2mi) or a short cycling distance from the beach, doesn't have to be in a touristy area. We would much rather live somewhere outside of the action but within walking/cycling distance of it.

As for apartments/homes, we're looking to rent something w/ 1-2 bedrooms, furnished (6,500 pesos/month max but preferably the cheaper the better.) w/ a 6 month lease. Again, it would be ideal to be within walking/cycling distance from the beach if possible.

What do you think of our budget/price range as far as accommodations go? Reasonable? Unreasonable? Let us know.

Go easy on us, we're new here! ;)

Thanks in advance and we look forward to hearing from you!

·
Registered
6,719 Posts