Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
221 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Dears,
I'm originally from Jordan where I stay now, I applied for Australia immigration on 20/6/2009, recently the department of immigration has asked for the medical examination that means that I will get my PR within 2 – 4 weeks.

I have reserved a flight tickets on 16/1/2010 to 11/2/2010, my aim to stamp the visa, opening tax file and bank account and also to see the country and the situation there in Sydney.

Currently, I work in a Jordanian bank in Jordan as a Senior Application Officer; I have approximately 5 years of experience in various applications, including SAP & Oracle ERP systems but as a beginner level , I have MS of Computer Science very soon I will get the PMP certificate.

Actually, I don’t want to resign from my current job in Jordan until I find a job in Australia, I don’t know if it is possible to find Job within this period (26 days). If I found a good job and did the interviews, I will resign immediately but maybe I have to give 1 month notice and come back.

The other option is come back to Jordan and waits until I get a job, but in this case I cannot do the interviews in person.

I have good English skills, I have got 6.5 in IELTS, but for sure it wouldn’t be easy for me to speak English fluently from the beginning, especially to understand the Australian accent.

I would appreciate if you can advise me in what to do.
Best regards,

·
Registered
315 Posts
Hi Steafo, all the best!

You and I have the same line of thought. I won't want to land in AUS without a job in hand but I wonder on how to achieve that end. One card up my sleeve is the current MNC firm I'm with. Been here 3.5 years so I'm within my rights to "jump."

Last year I tried many online recruitment agencies. But unanimously they stated that an AUS PR is a major requirement.

Can anyone share a thought?

·
Registered
6,235 Posts
Hi steafo,