Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi everyone

I'm new to this forum so go gentle on me!

I am just about to start applying for jobs in Australia. I work in recruitment and I can get a 457 sponsorship. I have been toying with the idea of working in either Sydney or Perth but am struggling on which one to go for as there are pluses and minuses for each one.

Bit of background
I am 32 and my fiance is 30. We have a daughter who is 9/10 months. We expect to be over in Oz by August time. We will both work in either CBD and will need to put our little girl into long hours childcare. We both work in recruitment (I work in finance recruitment, my OH works in IT Recruitment).
We both have friends who live in Sydney but none in Perth.
We are both active, enjoy sports etc and hope to have as much of an outdoor lifestyle (getting down to the beach etc) as much as possible.

My dilemma is this - firstly childcare seems to be very difficult to find in Sydney from my research on the web. Does anyone have recent experience of securing their child a place (we would put her in 5 days a week, full time). It is also alot more costly than Perth ($120 per day in Syd but approx $75 a day in perth?!).

Second dilemma is the cost of renting a place. Sydney is well, really expensive compared to the research i've done in perth. Is that what is really the case? Alot of my pal's over there are saying that its a real bum fight trying to secure a place in Sydney as 15 or so people turn up to the viewings. Is Perth like this?

Finally our concern with Perth is knowing well no-one at all. We aren't too fussed as our jobs are relatively social and allow you to hang out with other expat's and lets face it with a daughter around the age of 1 year old we are unlikely to be hanging out in clubs at all hours.

We enjoy eating out (particularly as we can't go clubbing lol!) but i'm told perth isn't great for food - is this correct?