Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello,

I am a fresh graduate from Eastern Europe who is coming to NZ within two months.
I have the opportunity to stay in NZ for one year, to work there, to travel, to study, well to reside there in a way I want.

Now, NZ is quite big and consists of two islands and is a place of incredibly beautiful nature! That's what I like the most about it.

So, I need to decide where I would like to stay and I prefer nature, fresh air and this kind of stuff over a big city.
I have worked in Sun Valley, USA and I liked it so much, because it has all those things mentioned before. It's a big skiing resort and it employs a lot of people.

I am wondering, is there anything similar in NZ? Some kind of resorts that I could try to get a job? I would really like to work in a resort or some kind of surfboarding area and to experience that beautiful nature in NZ.

So, which place in NZ should I choose?
What are the biggest resorts there?

Any advice highly appreciated!
Thank you!

·
Super Moderator
4,931 Posts
Hi and welcome to the forum.

There are a few outdoorsy resorts around NZ although if you're only arriving in a couple of months you'll miss the tail end of the ski season which is usually July - October. Unlikely they'd be looking for staff now anyways since the season is wrapping up.
It is Spring here in NZ and the short Winter is well and truly over. The temperatures are creeping up as we head towards summer.
Your options now are maybe to get work in the same resorts but associated with tramping, mountain biking, bunjee jumping, water sports etc instead of ski/snowboarding.

On the South Island, Queenstown is NZ's playground for all things adreniline. Mount Cook and surrounding area (Fox Glacier and Franz Josef Glacier) over on the West Coast offers year round tourist trips.