Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
49 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
hello everyone !!

Just got my PR done after a long wait & will be moving to australia in July last week, i am originally from india ( delhi ) but worked all my life in Dubai ( UAE) n a mechanical engineer by profession and working in a glass bottle mfg plant.

1. I am planning to move to either sydney or melbourne, n as i understand from other threads posted that cost of living in sydney in more then in melbourne, pls let me know the minimum amount of money that should be sufficient say for 3 months for me survive considering that i dnt get a job for 3 months. ??

2. How good is job market for mechanical engineers ( i am into plant maintenance & operations) , any good glass plants in melb. or sydney??

3. What is meant by "making a contract with a recruitment agency", can we not approach any other consultants if we are bound by the contract? and how much does a recruiter charges for such contracts?? is it paid by the employer or employee ?? and do they really help ppl in getting jobs??

4. And lastly as i dont have any frend in australia so looking for some good frends who can help me / guide me or if someone is moving out new to australia it will be great to have a company in exploring the city n places and even we can share an apartment on rent.

Cheers !!

PRS

·
Registered
76 Posts
Hi,

You don't sign on to one agency and they don't charge for their services. It's a very similar set up they have in Dubai. So basically you can contact and deal with as many agencies as you feel fit.

With regards to Sydney compared to Melbourne your assumption is correct. Sydney is more expensive but I think this is based on rent.

The market at the moment is tough as most companies within the engineering industry ideally look for Candidates with local experience so it will be worth probably considering short term contract work should you fail to secure permanent.