Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
30 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi Everyone
I'm new (from the UK now in Abu Dhabi, UAE) and any help is much appreciated! My husband is an engineer and I am a primary school teacher. My work is busy but not anything like my husband who works 60 plus hours a week and every other weekend. His health is suffering so we have to make changes. I love Abu Dhabi, the pools, sun and nice hotelslfood etc, I do however miss the green. So what we need to do is decide should we try to move to New Zealand or not???? HELP!!! :juggle:
I'm trying to be positive but I'm really worried that we will move and then I will really not like the cold and that we will have no money to live off, we don't want to be scrimping and saving. I know we won't go out as much as here, but I would like to still be able to go out a few times a month and afford to buy wine to go with healthy home cooked meals. :eek: Go on one main holiday once a year and a few mini breaks in between (maybe around NZ)
If my husband (aged 31) does get this job in Christchurch he would get around 120 NZ dollars, I (aged 28) may or may not work depending on the job situation. He has a degree in Civil Engineering, is now studying for his Masters, has 10 years work experience (UK and Abu Dhabi, UAE), I have a degree in Early Childhood and Curriculum Studies, a Post Grad Cert in Education, 1 year teaching in England and 4 years in Abu Dhabi, Middle East.
So I'm just wondering from other ex pats based on the info I have given do you think the cold is going to be to much?? the standard of houses???the salary (will we live and still be able to go out)???? I really would like this to be a positive experience but I don't want to make the wrong move. Is it really a better quality of life, less work hours? More family time??:confused: Do the pros outweigh the cons???
Any help at all will be greatly appreciated, thank you so much.