Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am a recently (early) retired teacher, approaching 56 and have moved to France with my wife. Neither of us is currently working but I plan to start giving private French lessons to expats shortly. I have been told that I am not eligible for an S1, but am also aware that we are legally required to have health cover. My pension is modest, just enough to live on - can anyone advise us on the best way forward to get into the state healthcare system? Any advice would be most welcome.

·
Registered
'you can take the boy out of Sarf London, but you can't take Sarf London outta the boy'
1,596 Posts
I am no expert, but firstly you need to have lived here for three months before you can make an application.

Get yourselves down in the first instance to your local CPAM office and apply for your carte vitale. You will need all sorts of documents, such as marriage and birth certificates with translations, and also proof that you do indeed have existing health cover.

After three months you can then apply or so i am told.
You may be accepted , you may not. Each department seems to apply the rules in a different way. You will need patience, persistence and politeness. Not to mention a good sense of humour....

Bon courage

·
Registered
686 Posts
You need to apply for the state healthcare base cover, known as CMU-B - see info here. You will need to prove you have enough income to support yourselves and then you will pay 8% of your income which is above a minimum threshold of around 9500 euros per year. This provides cover for a percentage of your healthcare costs (around 65%-70%), you will need to cover the difference yourselves, or take out a "top-up" health insurance.

·
Registered
664 Posts