Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
49 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello to all.

Firstly, a big thankyou to the administrators of this forum and all those who have been so incredibly helpful with their posts and replies. The wealth of information on this forum has transformed my knowledge in the past few days.

Our introduction:

My wife and I live on Vancouver Island, BC, Canada. We're in our 40s/50s. I'm Brit/Canadian and DW is Canadian/South African. After 7 years we're utterly bored with North American culture and have decided to move to Europe. I was born in Zambia when it was still a British colony and my wife was born in South Africa. After leaving South Africa we tried Australia before relocating to Canada.

I'm a chartered accountant by profession but haven't done anything accounting related since 1993. For many years we ran our own small pharmaceutical company back in South Africa. For the past 5 years we've been renovating houses over here in Canada, doing very well initially and then losing disasterously!

Most of my family live in the UK. DW's son lives in Dublin.

Aside from the obvious pull of family ties, we have a tremendous affinity for Europe having both grown up in Brit-centric environments.

DW has a UK spouse settlement visa. As soon as we sell up here we'll be flying to the UK. DW will then write the Facts of UK test and will immediately thereafter be applying for Permanent Residence.

And so the question:

Because neither of us has ever paid into NI, it looks like we'll have access to the NHS when in the UK but will have to get private health insurance were we to beome resident in France (at least, for the first 5 years before getting permanent residency). Am I correct in my thinking? And if so, do any kind souls have recommendations as to which insurance providers we should look at?

Sorry for the long introductory post. Hope you can give some pointers. :)

·
Administrator
51,325 Posts