Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
hi

This is my first time on this forum.
Here's a little bit about my story (not gonna make it overwhelming) ...
I moved from Paris, France, to California two years ago. Originally I was supposed to stay for the summer with my boyfriend. Turned out we wanted to stay together so I made the decision to stay in California. We then got married.
Before you say anything, yes, I gave away everything I had for my husband. So here I am, in the U.S. Been here for two years now.
At the beginning I couldn't legally work but I started to look for jobs as soon as I got my work permit.
I got my first job here in a coffee shop. It got boring really fast. I quit this job because my husband was done with school in LA and we had to move back to OC.
This was a year ago. Since then I've been looking for jobs that are more in line with my studies. I went to film school in France for production and followed with a marketing bachelor.
Here's my problem though. I cannot seem to get any job here other than being a server in a coffe shop or a restaurant. I don't have anything against these jobs but I used to do that during summers when j was in school. Now I'm done with school and my goal in life was not to become a server.
I've also noticed that people treat me differently than the way I was treated back. France. It seems like they think I am "stupid" or I do not know as much as them.
I know English is no my first language, the culture and history are different. I didn't grew up here. So I do not know everything about living here. But this doesn't make me stupid nor a less valuable person.

It's been really hard for me because I am scared that I'm never gonna be taken seriously by people here because I cannot get a job that I would probably not have any problem getting in France.
And I feel frustrated, diminished and like people don't really know me.