Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all, myself, partner and children are currently residing in Australia, we are originally from the UK and came here for my partners job. While its a beautiful place to live its not where we want to be forever and would love to live in North Carolina, USA
Were so confused by all the visas over there and have read its hard to get a job unless your already in the country. My partner is a highly skilled Carpenter and plasterer and im a Bookkeeper with banking experience also.
So my question... has anyone just upped sticks and left for the US and just took a chance??
Id ideally like at least one of us to have a job there beforehand so the children can go to school etc..
Any info greatly appreciated!
Thanks

·
Administrator
49,828 Posts
The biggest "challenge" you're up against is that, for most sorts of visas with working privileges, it's the employer who has to get the work authorization and process the initial visa request. So, basically, you need to find a job with an employer who is willing and able to sponsor the visa application - and that ain't easy.
Cheers,
Bev

·
Registered
2,388 Posts
They can refuse you entry to the country is they suspect that you want to look for a job and move to the US.

·
Registered
7,187 Posts
Neither of these jobs would qualify for a work visa.

Plus the visa must be applied for while the applicant is NOT in the US - so upping sticks and 'just moving' is not an option.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Just wondering where you got the information that neither of our jobs can be offered a visa??? Very different from what we have read and been told already :-/

·
Banned
6,189 Posts