Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
27 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Having never experianced Green Monday bank hol i was wondering if anyone could give me ideas about what to do, where to go or whats on that day.

I'm afraid i'm a newbie who dosn't yet know her way around...

·
Super Moderator
12,532 Posts
Having never experianced Green Monday bank hol i was wondering if anyone could give me ideas about what to do, where to go or whats on that day.

Most villages have celebrations on Monday afternoon with free village bread, flauna and wine etc. The children fly kites while the adults sit around nattering etc.
We usually come away with a bottle of Zivania which the Mukhta gives us (can't stand the stuff personally:D)

·
Registered
915 Posts

As you are in the Larnaca area I suggest you go join the party on the top of Oroklini Hill if the weather is fine. Take your barbecue (seafood!), your salad, picnic table, chairs and kite and go people watching. Had a great time there last year!

·
Registered
915 Posts
thanks for that babs! any more info? who organises it etc. or is it somthing people just show up to?
Its arranged by Oroklini Council I think, but its just something people turn up to (or they did last year). There were loads of people last year. There was music, a couple of vans selling hot drinks/ ice creams. They were giving away loaves of bread too, if you arrived early enough. There were kite flying contests with prizes, things like the best home made kite, the kite that flew highest etc. Last year we had a flyer for the 'do', haven't seen one this year yet.