Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner
1 - 2 of 2 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Thank you everyone for your welcome and patience with my noob questions:cool:

For years I have wanted to relocate to Asia but my family situation would not permit it. Now I'm 50 and ready to embark and have a lot of questions. Though I have thought deeply about what I want to do, I am very short on facts and so I have a lot of questions and am looking for some insights. It's coming time to make my move within about 18 months, so I am now starting planning and informing myself.

I have wanted to move specifically HK but am open to Singapore, Thailand or Vietnam.

Things that matter to me..... views, vibrant city, good transportation and balance of nature and city life not too far away, hence my picks.

Background:

I'm an engineer, I could continue to work as an exec when I move or I could just do what I love which is work with factory for MNC companies. Or I could just retire, but I think I will be bored.

I'm single and like Buddhist Asian women.

I am active - sport and water close by are important.

Budget: Ultimately I will keep a property in the US and either rent or buy in ASIA -HK likely rent, everywhere else, likely buy.

Questions:

It's not entirely clear where one can safely own property....I am very concerned about owning property abroad and having it repatriated, title fraud, etc.

Is it even smart to own abroad?

Cash management. I am sitting on a pretty solid lump of cash. Should I keep it in US or should I put it into local currencies?

Citizenship/Residency: I hold US and EU citizenship. Aside from ownership question, what about the ability to just stay there?