Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
31 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am new to the forum and have been reading some of the very helpful advice posted by members. Would love it if anyone could offer their views to me.

i am a US citizen with a british husband living in the UK (since 1981).Now retired and receiving a pension from the Local Government Pension Scheme, which i gather comes under the heading of Government Service Pension.

Recently filed US taxes under the Streamlined Program; had conflicting advice about the pension- some said it was exempt income under the Treaty and did not need to be entered on the 1040 as it was taxable only in the UK, others said that because of the 'savings clause' it WAS taxable in the US and so should be entered as income. I am new to all of this but did attempt to read the treaty, which pretty much implies (I think) that pension income is taxable only in the country of residence. Am i missing something??

Foreign tax credit not much help as this income is under the UK tax allowance and so no tax is being paid on it in the UK.

It does seem peculiar that if i were still working, i could exclude my salary under the FEIE, but once retired the much reduced income paid by the same employer should be taxed.

So, what is the generally accepted view on the status of a UK government service pension paid to an american living in the UK?

·
Administrator
50,474 Posts
If the tax treaty says that the pension is taxable only by the state of residence, I'd go with that. There is a place on the 1040 form where you could (if you really wanted to) report the amount of the pension as "Other pension" on line a - and then in line b of the same line you report the "taxable amount of pension" as $0. But frankly, I don't see the point of doing so - unless it helps you sleep at night.
Cheers,
Bev

·
Registered
340 Posts
Welcome.