Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi Joppa, I was wondering if you could give me your opinion regarding my situation. I'm a software developer and my wife is a nurse, we have three children all British passport holders. We currently live in the USA and we want to return home to the UK to be nearer to my elderly parents, both are 70+. I want to apply for the spousal visa and I have the required money in savings to meet the financial requirement. However, my wife has overstayed her tourist visa twice, once in 2009 and again in 2011 due to my last two children being born in the UK, I was told by the midwife attending my wife that it was ok for her to recieve care there due to being the wife of a British citizen, my understanding now is that she was wrong. My wife has never been deported and has left the country at her own cost. We recently returned to the UK for a 3 week visit and returned to the USA, this has been our first visit to the UK in 4 years. I would greatly appreciate an objective analysis of the chances of my being successfull in obtaining a spousal visa. Any advice or alternative pathways I might take would likewise be appreciated. My thanks in advance to all those decide to help.

·
Registered
39,149 Posts
Overstay must be declared (in her travel history) and brief details given about the circumstances. She should take full responsibility for her actions, show regret and her wish to move on. This will probably be enough to nullify the effect of her overstay, but there is no way of knowing how ECO will deal with it.

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·