Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
139 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey everyone,

I think I am beginning to adjust here. However, my husband and I have talked about purchasing a home either in Brittany or Bordeaux. I think we will grow tired of Parisian life after a couple of years.

I would like to start taking classes at Sorbonne while I am in proximity. I hear good things from everyone about the classes for foreigners there.

A couple of questions though...

I am guessing after this year, I will apply for my longer visa since this is my first year. But at what point can I start applying for French citizenship? My husband and I have been married for over 8 years now. I know I will need a B1 level of French which is fine. Would it be feasible to start applying next year?

Thanks in advance

·
Read Only
18,642 Posts
Hi ATP - I'm assuming your husband is French. Here is a link to the public service website which explains the conditions you need to meet Nationalité française par mariage : conditions - Service-public.fr. From my reading, it appears that, timewise, you would be able to apply for French nationality now provided your marriage has been registered in France. So I guess it really depends how long you think it will take you to reach the B1 standard in French.

Hope this helps :)

In the meantime, I believe you will only be able to renew your titre de sejour for one year at a time (I haven't checked, but Bev will know).

Am really pleased you are considering taking French nationality :)

·
Registered
139 Posts
Discussion Starter #3