Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am an American student studying Jazz Performance and Music Tech (studio work and recording) in the United States. I will graduate in 2013. Soon after I graduate, i would like to move to Paris. Why? I was born in Paris to American citizens who were living there for a year, and I was six months old when I came home. After high school, my mother wanted me to see Paris, and we stayed for ten days with friends in Paris. I fell in love with the city and the bits of culture/politics that I was introduced to by our friends there and through what I saw and experienced. Also, many jazz musicians have had much more success in Europe than in the USA. Either way, teaching and performing music is a different competitive environment than many other fields and I'm aware of that. Also, the saxophone and jazz are my passion, and France is the birthplace of the saxophone, as well as where many jazz musicians ended up. Anyway I'm getting off topic.

I've read that if I went to grad school in Paris, I could work half-full-time while in school, and obtain citizenship two years after two years of school. I'd like to do two years of grad and I could support myself for two years after that. Would I then be able to become fully French and be competitive in jobs such as teaching music part-time in a conservatoire?

Let me know if I should tell you all more about my situation in order to get good advice.

·
Administrator
50,378 Posts
You say you were born in France. Have you ever checked to see if you might already have French nationality by virtue of being born there? France used to be well known for their jus soli laws - meaning that anyone born in France was considered a French national. That changed, but I'm not at all sure when that change came about.