Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi All,

I'm new to this so please bare with me.

I am considering moving to the states and would like some information or advice on obtaining a visa.

My background is I was born in the US via surrogacy to a American woman, but was then taken to the UK by my father and my (non-biological) mother I was then registered as a UK citizen. Where do you think I would stand obtaining an US visa for residency? I am now married and obviously would also like to know where my husband stands getting a visa? Also he is a criminal history for minor offenses for drink driving and criminal damage but nothing in the last 8 years (Looks like meeting me changed his ways! :D )

·
Administrator
50,375 Posts
If you were born in the US, you should have a US birth certificate, surrogacy or not. That being the case, you would be considered a US citizen from birth.
Cheers,
Bev

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Brilliant, even though I have a UK passport and am a UK citizen? This is very good news :) Still early days in us thinking of going over as lots to consider but I feel very excited!

·
Banned
6,189 Posts
Don't get too excited. ;) You also have the same obligations as other U.S. citizens, notably the requirements to enter the U.S. only with a U.S. passport, to file U.S. tax and financial disclosure forms (as applicable), and to register with U.S. Selective Service if you are a young adult male. (You said you have a husband -- I did take note -- but men can now have husbands, too.)

Virtually all children physically born in the United States automatically acquire U.S. citizenship at birth thanks to the Fourteenth Amendment to the U.S. Constitution. The real world exceptions are children of foreign diplomats. (There are some theoretical exceptions, e.g. children born to foreign occupying soldiers who invaded the U.S.)