Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
This is a long and arduous tale but I'll try and cut it short :)

I am 16 weeks pregnant and have just set up my own business under the auto enterpreneur scheme here in France.

I did this for the sole reason that I was told it was easier to get a Social Security number that way.

I started trading on 1st September and that's all going really well, I ran my own business in the UK so it's not anything new to me and that bit is easy!

I paid someone to set everything up for me - she registered me and although I had to constantly chase her, things seemed ok.

She charged me 250E for the privilege - all fine so far.

EXCEPT, the whole reason I went to her, stressed over many emails, was to get my social security number. I pay her invoice and ask when i will receive this number. 'Fax me the paperwork you've had and i'll tell you which one it is' she says.

I fax her the certificat d'inscription I have for my business. She says 'hmmm it's not on there' and says she will phone my local RSI office.

I hear nothing from her until I chase her 2 days later and she says 'I don't have the time to be on the phone for you all day - can't you phone them or get a friend to do it' Err yes, I could, but that's what I just paid you for....

Today my partner phones them to be told that I can't have a SS number as they don't have my birth certificate - WHICH SHE DIDN'T ASK FOR!!! Also that I may have to send paperwork to another office. To say I'm unhappy is to put it mildly - I've chased and chased her, stressed right from the beginning that all I want is the SS number and I still don't have one. To then have her tell me she doesn't have the time to chase it up, well I'm 5 seconds away from cancelling her cheque.

I go to the CAF - they want my SS number.