Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello,

Last week, I applied for the German Blue Card via the German general consulate in Brazil.
When applying, they asked for the ZAB validation documents, which I don't have (since my profession is not regulated and ZAB says in their site that validation is optional).

They said my visa might be refused due to lack of documents, but I told them to send the application anyways. The consulate doesn't issue the visa, they just send everything to Germany.

So I now have a few questions:
  1. Can they really refuse my visa because I don't have the ZAB validation (again, ZAB says it's not necessary)? Will they let me know first so I can try to get the validation?
  2. In the application form, I said I would be bringing my wife. They didn't request any of her documents (I had brought everything: photos, passport, diploma), just the marriage certificate. Is this correct? She doesn't have to do anything or send any documents?
  3. What is the expected processing time? They list it as 90 days but I've seen people talking about 2 weeks
  4. How can I know if they have received everything or are missing some document? They didn't send anything not even an email.

A few details about me:
  • I have a bachelor's degree (4 years) in information systems (basically IT/software engineering)
  • I have 10 years of experience as a developer
  • My university is listed as H+ in the anabin database, and my country is listed as "Direct Access"
  • My course/diploma is not listed. In fact there are no courses listed for my university. Most universities are like that as well.
  • I already have a job offer validated by ZAV.
  • My offered salary is above the minimum for the blue card (even though it's a MINT profession and I could get away with less).

·
Registered
251 Posts