Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi
We are looking to move to Australia on the 457 visa we didnt get enough points to go across on the skilled visa.
We dont really know where to start, do we apply for sponsors first then find somewhere to live ? How long does it take from finding a sponsor to having to be moved and set up ready to start work. Should i have sold my house yesterday so to speak?
Any help would be great.
Also where are the best areas to move to with children aged 7 and 10, both love their water sports so not too far inland would be better for us. Have to have good schools too.
We had friends who moved to mapleton area and this is the only area we sort of know.
Thank you

·
Registered
1 Posts
Hi nicci,

Quick response, i'm no expert but am in Australia on a 457, currently transitioning to Permanent Residency.

Firstly don't even consider putting your house up for sale, yet.

The 457 was recently announced to be abolished and replaced with a new set of visas.

What job do yo or your partner carry out? Is it on the new revised list of occupations - you'll be able to find on the immi site.

I moved internally with my current firm from London to Sydney, around the time i was setting that up, i independently tried to find jobs that offered the 457 route, and they were very hard to find. I'd set yourself up with a Recruiter/ Immigration consultant here who may be able to help.

Re an area, why do you want to move to au, whats motivating you? Where have you been before here? Do you like living in big cities/countryside? Watersports sea of happy to be on a lake/ river etc? Will help narrow it down, Its a big country!!

You'll love it here!

:smile::smile::smile:

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thank you for your reply.