Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
hi all,
So I have a few questions!
I am 27 years old and have been offered a job in Dubai as a real estate agent along with my brother!
1/ the job is commission based only - 50%, the company will pay for my visa and 2 weeks accommodation, you hear of agent earning £50k-£100k what's the realistic earnings? I know it's what you put in is what you get out I am an experienced estate agent in the UK.
2/ I am gay but very much straight acting you wouldn't be able to tell, I know it is illegal to be gay in Dubai and I am not the type to flaunt it and obviously in another country respect their laws ( when in rome...) but I would want to bring my boyfriend to live with me and my brother eventually, does anyone think this would be a problem if we are discreet as we are in the uk?
3/ I would be taking £5k as would my brother to start with initially is this enough?
4/ what's the cost of living rent, food etc...
5/ where would be the cheapest places to rent ?
6/ any real estate agents that could give some feedback would be great
7/ I don't really have any ties here in the UK and am still young I feel it would be a good experience to work hard and make some money, what's your thoughts ?I don't think my sexuall preference should hold me back or the worry of being criticised when I am discreet about it and work very hard anyway?

·
Premium Member
10,204 Posts