Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
hey everyone.. im in the united states.. and for a few reasons, im unhappy in the country i am in... i cant say the reasons i want to leave here are going to be different in any other country.. but atleast i would not longer have to watch my country destroy itself

ive been to europe before, and there are a few general things i really like about europe, the history, the ancient architecture, the culture, the music... i really enjoyed my visits there (they were to germany) and i believe i would be happier living there than here..

currently, im a student of mechanical engineering and science and plan to finish my degree before i go.. and i speak english and a fair amount of german with some latin and russian... i wanted a strong base in all the major language groups in europe (germanic, romance, and slavic) so unless i go to greece ill already have a good start with the language...

the countries ive been thinking about are czech republic, switzerland, italy, poland, sweden and to some distant extent i might consider ukraine...

so.. im looking to hear more about these countries, and which ones you personally believe would be the best countries for me to look into since i plan on visiting them all first, for atleast a week each and if i like the place, then go through the process of finding work and moving there...

im saving money for the journey, checked out the average prices of small apartments, costs of food, and im going to save up atleast enough to live on for 6 months, but probably closer to the amount i will need to live in either country for a year which should give me plenty of time to learn the language, and find stable, long term employment and am even considering a TEFL certificate to increase my chances...