Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Living in England, I am currently looking at the options for an American business, so naturally I have a million questions!

Some background:
I work in the music industry and have been coming to America for almost 40 years with work and as a regular annual tourist.
My wife also works in the industry and my business, while our family is no longer at home.

I was approached recently during a US trip by two separate individuals about bringing my knowledge and ideas to an American based business to which they would wish to be involved.

As a small brief, the company would bring European music groups to the USA for tours, whilst also taking American bands to the UK and Europe.
It would combine a number of services under one company to assist the music groups.

To start the questions rolling:
BUSINESS

I have always understood that for a start up business, being a non resident, I would be looking at an E2 application and in the region of 100k investment.
However, I would not be making the financial investment into the company, the American nationals would.

Would the company need to therefore be registered by the American nationals who while were also active directors, appointed me as the majority director?

We would be looking to form an LLC and possibly in Delaware upon the recommendation of the New York accountant who we would use.
The LLC could however also be potentially set up in any state that we decide to locate the main office. (see below)

What is critical is access to Trans-Atlantic flights, but East Coast or perhaps Mid West locations are options.

Currently I am considering business locations within 2 hours of the following:

Boston
New York
Philadelphia
Washington
Miami

Perhaps also:
Atlanta
Austin
Chicago

The investors are based in Miami, so that is good reason to locate there, but not a requirement.