Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi!

I'm a newbie here but thought that I would see if I get any response to my enquiry.

My husband and I are both retired college lecturers and live in Les Landes. We would appreciate corresponding/meeting like minded people.

We love living here and do have friends - both French and English. However, we are becoming increasingly depressed and stressed by the racist views of some of the Brits living here. (Of course, they would say that they are not racist, etc. etc.) If you are in a similar position to us then you will understand my meaning.

I've no desire to get into any sort of wrangle on this forum about racism or anything else but would just like to increase our circle of friends.

·
Registered
77 Posts
If that is any consolation, I don't think it is just the Brits, it seems the NF is now totally mainstream and accepted. I'm French but not living (not leaving, freudian slip?) in France and every time I visit it leaves me with a sad feeling especially when it comes from people I've known all my life and who were absolutely fine growing up (or so it seemed). They all swear blind that it is only because 'everyone is fed up with all the spongers' and they are not really racist.
It is one of the few points that worries me about moving back as I fear it could influence my kids (in the same way I see it affecting my friends/family's kids

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
If that is any consolation, I don't think it is just the Brits, it seems the NF is now totally mainstream and accepted. I'm French but not living (not leaving, freudian slip?) in France and every time I visit it leaves me with a sad feeling especially when it comes from people I've known all my life and who were absolutely fine growing up (or so it seemed). They all swear blind that it is only because 'everyone is fed up with all the spongers' and they are not really racist.