Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
36 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Have just got back from my weekly 2 hour French lesson, and my tutor, who is excellent and a French native, no longer wants to teach in schools, but wants to work for herself privately. I suggested that she could perhaps offer lessons / courses by email and web cam (no, proper French language courses!) I said I would try to get some feedback for her on how popular this would be likely to be. She teaches from absolute beginners through to A Level+. Comments?

·
Administrator
50,381 Posts
Google around for "french classes online" and see what you can find. I know when I first got my little MP3 player, I found a ton of french lessons that were downloadable from the Internet. Some for free, others you had to pay for.

But another option your tutor may want to consider is doing French classes by telephone. This is popular with busy executives who need to keep their language skills up to date, but who don't have the time to attend classes. They just schedule a lesson-call and do the lesson on the phone.

An English friend of mine was doing this kind of teaching (through a language school) while living in France, and I was looking into something like this for my boss when I was working in Germany. With something like Skype, or another VOIP service, you could take students anywhere in the world as long as the teacher could deal with the time differences. Talking on the phone is the hardest part of learning a language (IMO anyhow) so this really helps people in business who need to learn a language.
Cheers,
Bev

·
Registered
54 Posts
I would be interested in having a French teacher for a few lessons, definitely. I'm in Austria at the moment but want to have my French back up and running before we move to France in a couple of years.