Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
36 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I posted a while ago looking for feedback on French language teaching on line / telephone, and all the feedback and input was great, so thank you all.

Now, feedback on translations please. Is it something that people would find useful? Perhaps letters from EDF / France Telecom etc? Or property documentation? Advertisement translations, for rental properties, English into French? Making telephone calls to various people? I know the latter I have found very useful recently, when trying to sort out a bill that I was sent by the water board. I couldn't have done it alone

I'd be interested to hear what people think. Thanks!

:ranger:

G

·
I'm a professional translator and interpreter. These days when people just want to get the gist of a letter, or a few phrases in French, the automatic software isn't too bad.

For anything more serious, I highly recommend using a professional - I see dreadful amateur stuff done all the time.

Translator's insurance is advisable - a mistake on a key passage can cost money - a lot of money. And the translator can be held liable.

A degree in French (or in English for a native French speaker) is the minimum. Preferably a professional qualification such as with the Chartered Institute of Linguists in London, the Diploma in Translation (DipTrans), a post-graduate qualification.

One other key error some amateur translators make - translating away from, rather than into, their mother tongue. No matter how good the linguist, a professional translator can always spot when this is being done.

Stick to domains you have expertise in. A document might appear ok to translate at first glance, until you come across a few technical terms hidden away in the text. I've seen some hilarious botched translations of technical and semi-technical stuff.